Free Shipping on all orders over 899€

Le Corbusier

le corbusier

(1887-1965)

Le Corbusier, byname of Charles-Édouard Jeanneret was born in 1887 in Switzerland. Internationally influential Swiss architect and city planner, whose designs combine the functionalism of the modern movement with a bold, sculptural expressionism. He belonged to the first generation of the International school of architecture and was their most able propagandist in his numerous writings. In his architecture he joined the functionalist aspirations of his generation with a strong sense of expressionism. He was the first architect to make a studied use of rough-cast concrete, a technique that satisfied his taste for asceticism and for sculptural forms.

 



This armchair is a reinterpretation of a wooden model used in India at the end of the 19th century, the so-called “British officers chair” produced in England until 1956. Its variable-tilt backrest guarantees a high level of comfort without any effort. . It was designed in 1928 for the furnishings of the Villa Church in Ville d'Avray and exhibited for the first time at the “Salon d'Automne des Artistes Décorateurs” in Paris in 1929. Le Corbusier contemplated the essential form, elegance and the austerity of this chair. Charlotte Perriand, Le Corbusier's collaborator, said that: “Metal in furniture holds the same place as cement in architecture. It’s a revolution! On the seats, the combination of metal and leather creates a series of magnificent combinations and original aesthetic effects ”.



The Grand Confort series - in its two versions, small and large model - is part of the series of tubular steel furniture presented in 1929 at the Salon d'Automne in Paris, and is the result of the collaboration between Le Corbusier, his cousin Pierre Jeanneret and Charlotte Perriand. Translating their thoughts into terms of proportions and ergonomics, the latter created the large model for women, who tend to sit with their legs crossed in a transverse line, and the small model for men, who in contrast stand. straight legs apart.



The Grand Confort series - in its two versions, small and large model - is part of the series of tubular steel furniture presented in 1929 at the Salon d'Automne in Paris, and is the result of the collaboration between Le Corbusier, his cousin Pierre Jeanneret and Charlotte Perriand. Translating their thoughts into terms of proportions and ergonomics, the latter created the large model for women, who tend to sit with their legs crossed in a transverse line, and the small model for men, who in contrast stand. straight legs apart.



Designed by Le Corbusier with Pierre Jeanneret and Charlotte Perriand, the “infinitely adjustable chaise longue” - also known by the acronym B306 - was presented at the “Salon d'Automne” in Paris in 1929 as part of the “Interior equipment of 'a house". Certainly the most famous classic of the “Le Corbusier group” is made up of two free elements: the base and the cradle. The cradle - whose shape follows the curves of the human body - seems to fl uctuate on its base, and can slide without any mechanism in a continuous movement, thus allowing any type of tilt, while remaining stable thanks to the friction of the steel with the rubber that covers the crossbars of the base. Le Corbusier himself defines it as the “real resting machine” and said in designing it that he thought of the cowboy who smoked his pipe, sitting with his feet in the air leaning on the side of the road.



With the LC collection, Charlotte Perriand and her colleagues Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanerret traced a new language of modernity. Furnishings would be pared-back and simple, they declared — reduced to the only the most essential elements and silhouettes. The result was a beautiful series of contemporary designs, as timeless and enduring today as they were back then. 



Designed by Charlotte Perriand and part of the LC collection by Le Corbusier, Pierre Jeanneret and Charlotte Perriand. The LC collection takes its inspiration from the swivel chair designed in 1927 by Charlotte Perriand for her own apartment in the Place Saint-Sulpice in Paris, and was shown at the 1929 Salon d’Automne, as part of a collection co-designed with Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret.  

English

Offre exceptionnelle: -60% sur les produits inspirés par Le Corbusier

Le Corbusier

le corbusier

(1887-1965)

Le Corbusier, du nom de Charles-Édouard Jeanneret est né en 1887 en Suisse. Architecte et urbaniste Suisse d'influence internationale, dont les créations combinent le fonctionnalisme du mouvement moderne avec un expressionnisme audacieux et sculptural.
Il appartenait à la première génération de l'École internationale d'architecture et était leur propagandiste le plus habile dans ses nombreux écrits. Dans son architecture, il rejoint les aspirations fonctionnalistes de sa génération avec un fort sens de l'expressionnisme. Il a été le premier architecte à faire un usage étudié du béton brut, une technique qui satisfait son goût pour l'ascétisme et pour les formes sculpturales.

L’architecture est un fait d’art, un phénomène qui suscite une émotion, au delà des problèmes de construction, au delà d’eux-mêmes. La construction sert à tenir debout, l’architecture à émouvoir.

 



Ce fauteuil est une réinterprétation d’un modèle en bois utilisé en Inde à la fin du 19ème, ladite “British officers chair” produite en Angleterre jusqu’en 1956. Son dossier à inclinaison variable garantit, sans aucun effort, un grand niveau de confort. Il fut conçu en 1928 pour l’ameublement de la Villa Church à Ville d’Avray et exposé pour la première fois au “Salon d’Automne des Artistes Décorateurs” de Paris de 1929. Le Corbusier contemplait la forme essentielle, l’élégance et l’austérité de cette chaise. Charlotte Perriand, la collaboratrice de Le Corbusier disait que: “Le métal en ameublement tient la même place que le ciment en architecture. C’est une révolution! Sur les assises, l’association de métal et de cuir crée une série d’associations magnifiques et d’effets esthétiques inédits”.



La série Grand Confort - dans ses deux versions, petit et grand modèle - fait partie de la série de meubles en acier tubulaire présentés en 1929 au Salon d’Automne de Paris, et est le fruit de la collaboration entre Le Corbusier, son cousin Pierre Jeanneret et Charlotte Perriand. Traduisant leurs pensées en termes de proportions et d’ergonomie, ces derniers créèrent le grand modèle pour les femmes, qui ont tendance à s’asseoir en croisant les jambes en ligne transversale, et le petit modèle pour les hommes, qui se tiennent en revanche droit les jambes écartées.



La série Grand Confort - dans ses deux versions, petit et grand modèle - fait partie de la série de meubles en acier tubulaire présentés en 1929 au Salon d’Automne de Paris, et est le fruit de la collaboration entre Le Corbusier, son cousin Pierre Jeanneret et Charlotte Perriand. Traduisant leurs pensées en termes de proportions et d’ergonomie, ces derniers créèrent le grand modèle pour les femmes, qui ont tendance à s’asseoir en croisant les jambes en ligne transversale, et le petit modèle pour les hommes, qui se tiennent en revanche droit les jambes écartées. 



Conçue par Le Corbusier avec Pierre Jeanneret et Charlotte Perriand, la “chaise longue à réglage continu” - connue également par le sigle B306 - fut présentée au “Salon d’Automne” de Paris en 1929 comme faisant partie de l’“Équipement intérieur d’une habitation”. Le classique certainement le plus célèbre du “groupe Le Corbusier” est constitué de deux éléments libres entre eux : la base et le berceau. Le berceau - dont la forme suit les courbes du corps humain - semble fl uctuer sur sa base, et peut coulisser sans aucun mécanisme en un mouvement continu, permettant ainsi tout type d’inclinaison, tout en restant stable grâce au frottement de l’acier avec le caoutchouc qui revêt les traverses de la base. Le Corbusier lui-même la défi nit comme la “vrai machine à se reposer” et déclara avoir pensé en la concevant au cow-boy qui fumait sa pipe, assis les pieds en l’air appuyés sur le bord du chemin. 



Avec la collection LC, Charlotte Perriand et ses collègues Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanerret ont tracé un nouveau langage de la modernité. Le mobilier serait épuré et simple, ont-ils déclaré - réduit aux seuls éléments et silhouettes les plus essentiels. Le résultat était une belle série de designs contemporains, aussi intemporels et durables aujourd'hui qu'ils l'étaient à l'époque. 



Dessiné par Charlotte Perriand et faisant partie de la collection LC par Le Corbusier, Pierre Jeanneret et Charlotte Perriand. La collection LC s'inspire de la chaise pivotante dessinée en 1927 par Charlotte Perriand pour son propre appartement de la place Saint-Sulpice à Paris , et a été présentée au Salon d'Automne de 1929, dans le cadre d'une collection co-conçue avec Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret. 

French